Runners Q&A: Dot Sowerby at 90

A Q&A with Greensboro's Queen of Running.

Runners Q&A: Dot Sowerby at 90
Dot Sowerby competing in a Junction 311 Endurance Sports race.
Click on the video to see Dot Sowerby discuss why she's active and competitive, her tips for living a long life and how she'll celebrate her 90th birthday.

Run a 10K after you've turned 90?

Of course.

Compete in senior games events?

Always.

Run a half marathon?

Wait. ... what?

Dot Sowerby has been laying out her running plans for 2023, literally using a calendar as her guide. She'll celebrate a milestone birthday Thursday, and in doing so she'll give Greensboro its second competitive runner in the 90-and-older division.

Sowerby is lining up for the city's senior games competition – she's more than a runner – but also has her sights set on competing in the National Senior Games in Pittsburgh and in the USA Track & Field Masters Outdoor Championships at A&T's Marcus T. Johnson Track, both in July.

And, yes, our newest nonagenarian indeed plans to race 13.1 miles in the Life Time Chicago Half Marathon on Sept. 24.

"I don't know if I can finish it," Sowerby says, "but I'm working toward it."

She'll finish it.

Besides being driven, Sowerby is in excellent health. Sowerby recently competed in the Waggin' Wild 5K, the season opener for the Race Series, managed by Junction 311 Endurance Sports and sponsored by Omega Sports. Sowerby finished the 3.1-mile race in 46 minutes and 53 seconds, averaging 15:03 per mile and winning the women's 70-99 age division. Of nearly 200 finishers, Sowerby crossed the line 129th.

Dot Sowerby at the Waggin' Wild 5K in Greensboro on March 4.

She's sharp, engaging, and humorous. Sowerby's voice might be challenged by spasmodic dysphonia, but if you're racing against her, be assured that it has zero negative effect on her finishing kick.

Sowerby welcomed a few questions from me Saturday and shared a couple of stories, too. Here's our discussion.

RS: You're very active, you compete in senior games competition, you recently raced in a 5K. What is this all about for you?

Sowerby: "I think exercise is so important. It helps me mentally, physically and spiritually. And I enjoy being with other runners. When I grew up, they wouldn't let girls run. In high school and college, there was no women's running. But I grew up as a tomboy and I loved to run, jump and skip (laughs) when I was younger.

Dot Sowerby as a 12-year-old.

"If they had known then, they might have said I was hyperactive. They might have given me medicines, which I'm so glad they didn't, because I still have that energy. I just enjoy being active."

RS: As the competition that you enter, what is driving you at this point in your life? You could go out and go for a walk or you could go for a run, but you're competing.

Sowerby: "I always joke and say the older you are, the better it is, because you don't have much competition (laughs). A lot of times I don't pay attention to my time, but I guess I am still competitive. At one state senior games, the guy running it decided, 'I'm just going to mix up age groups.' Well, I didn't like that because I couldn't see what my competition was doing.

Dot Sowerby at the Marcus T. Johnson Track at N.C. A&T in Greensboro.

"But I always have a little secret at the end of the race: I can sprint (laughs). And a lot of times that fools people, my competitors. I like to save a little bit so I can run faster at the finish line."

RS: So at 90, you've still got a kick?

Sowerby: "Yeah (laughs). That really makes me feel good when I can do that."

ABOUT DOT SOWERBY
Age: Will be 90 on Thursday.
Birthplace: White Plains, N.Y.
Residence: Greensboro.
College: Hollins College (sociology major), near Roanoke, Va.
Career: Worked for Guilford County Department of Social Services, adoption and foster home division, in Greensboro. ... Started the first Voice Disorder Support group in Greensboro in 1987. Was a charter board member of National Spasmodic Dysphonia Association and served as president from 2002 to 2005. Has participated in medical and speech conferences across the country and in Europe to help educate people about spasmodic dysphonia.
Notable: Ran her first race at age 50 and won her age group. ... Ran her first half marathon at age 60. ... Began competing in senior games events at age 77 and won her age group in her first race, the half mile. ... Has competed in and won multiple medals at five National Senior Games (Houston, 2011; Cleveland, 2013; Minneapolis, 2015; Albuquerque, N.M., 2019; and Fort Lauderdale, Fla., 2022). Has competed in track events, running long jump and shot put.
Upcoming races: PTI on the Runway 10, March 25; Greensboro Senior Games, April 4-May 5 (50 meters, 100, 200, 400, 800, shot put, running long jump, basketball and football throw); National Senior Games, Pittsburgh, July 7-18 (50, 100, 200, 400, 800); USATF Masters Outdoor Championships, Greensboro, July 20-23; Life Time Chicago Half Marathon, Sept. 24.

RS: How have you been able to maintain your fitness as you approach 90?

Sowerby: "I do something almost every day. It's either walking or running or swimming. I do it first thing in the morning, because if I put it off I don't get to it.

"But I have signed up for a half marathon. It's going to be in Chicago, where my second son (Jim) lives. He lives three blocks from the start line. So he's going to be in it and my daughter (Anne, also her husband, Tommy Samuels). I don't know if I can finish it, but I'm working toward it.

"I printed out a calendar of a whole year, and I started in January. I'll increase the mileage once a week so that by the time it comes close, I hope I have run the 13 miles. But I enjoy plotting it out.

"The thing that motivates me the most is signing up for a race (laughs), and then I know I've got to start doing the work."

RS: When you put that money down, you're committed.

Sowerby: "Yeah, right (laughs)."

RS: Have you ever run a half marathon?

Sowerby: "I did one time in Greensboro. But I was about 60. It's been a while back."

Dot Sowerby, second from right, with fellow competitors at the National Senior Games.

RS: What are some of the things that you've had to overcome to continue to do what you love doing?

Sowerby: "I have a voice disorder called spasmodic dysphonia. It's a neurological problem. And I guess my running actually helps that a little bit.

"But I haven't had any particular physical problems, as long as I keep training. When I came back from one Senior Games in Fort Lauderdale, I didn't do anything for a couple of weeks. I started back and I thought, 'Wow, I'm out of training!' It's so important to keep up some sort of training."

RS: Tell me about your first race.

Sowerby: "The first race I was in (a 5K), I was 50 years old. It started downtown and went by my house on Sunset Drive. At that race, the top age was 50, and I was 50. So I said to the the race director, 'Well, next year I want to run in this, but you won't have my age category. He said, 'Oh, I didn't think women your age would run when they got older.'

"Another funny fact about age. We do the senior games at A&T's track. And they get the students to come volunteer. I was talking to one young student and he said, 'You know, I'm glad I came out today because I learned something. I said, 'What's that?' He said, 'I didn't know older people could run!'"

Dot Sowerby, center, at the National Senior Games in Albuquerque, N.M.

RS: Your birthday will give Greensboro not one but two runners who are 90 or older. How well do you know Dick Rosen?

Sowerby: "I met Dick through the local senior games. The first local games I went in was 13 years ago. I think he was in this group of men running, and I had just signed up for half-mile. Several of the men said, 'Oh, you can do more than that.' I hadn't thought about that. So then I started sign up for more of the events. He always encourages me."

RS: What's your take on our city having two runners 90 years and older who are competitive? They're not just out there; they're competitive. Dick is chasing state records. You're chasing medals.

Sowerby: "It's wonderful. If we can inspire other people to keep running, I think it's great.

"When I was about 80, my friends gave me a hard time when they heard I was going to run in a race. They said, 'Dot, you're too old, you can't do that (laughs).' I'm glad the thinking has changed.

"My doctor, when I had a pulled muscle, said, 'You just keep running. Don't worry about your age.' It's important to let people know that even when you are older, you can run."

RS: What have you got coming up this year in terms of competition that you're focused on and want to do your best?

Sowerby: "This 10K (PTI on the Runway) for one. And the senior games; I'm signed up for eight things. If you get first, second or third, you go to state. If you get first, second or third (at state), you can go to nationals. I've been to five nationals.

"Those are the main things. I really like the senior games. That goes up to age 105  (laughs), and it's in five-year increments."

RS: What is your secret to having lived this long life?

Sowerby: "Do things in moderation. My philosophy is do hard things first in whatever task I have to do. When I do my exercises, I want to do them in the morning. If I put it off, I won't get to it.

"I try to eat right, keep healthy habits. Just trying to live a healthy life."

RS: Big birthday on Thursday. How are you going to celebrate it?

Sowerby: "I'm going to celebrate it by going on a cruise! Going on a cruise starting in Athens and ending in Venice. My three children plus their spouses are all going. The grandchildren are disappointed (laughs) that they're not included. We've planned that for a whole year. My second son's birthday is also on my birthday. That's the main celebration. We'll have a little family celebration here. But I love to travel, so that was a big reward."

Dot Sowerby at a race with family members at the N.C. Senior Games in Durham in 2022. From left, her son Richard Sowerby and his wife, July; grandson Andrew Samuels and his wife, Luna; and daughter Anne Samuels.